Databases

The Law Library offers access to over 600 databases in order to support the research needs of our faculty, students, and staff. The databases cover all aspects of legal research. Law students and faculty can also access additional non-law databases from University Libraries.

Off-Campus Access

If you are a current member of the Sturm College of Law community (law student, faculty, and staff), you can access restricted databases and other resources from off-campus using the library’s proxy services. When off-campus, you must use the links on the library’s A-Z Database Guide, Research Guides, Compass, or website to access subscription-based databases. When you click on a link to a database, or other resources that require user verification, you will be prompted to enter your DU ID and Pioneer Password.

""

 

Troubleshooting Access Problems

See below for possible solutions if you receive an error message.

  • 403 Forbidden - Information Invalid Error

    If you see the message "403 Forbidden. You are not permitted to access this database," you may not have permission to access the database. 

    Check the list of databases to see if you are allowed access. For example, non-law students cannot access some subscription databases. Use the legend on the Database A-Z list to determine if you have access to the database

    If you can’t figure out why you aren’t able to connect, call the Reference Desk at 303-871-6206 or via help@law-du.libanswers.com. 

  • Patron Privileges Expired Error Message

    If you receive the message, "Your patron privileges have expired," you most likely are no longer a current member of the DU community. Only current students, faculty, and staff have access to the library's subscription databases. Law Alumni cannot access subscription databases remotely.

    If you are still a current member of the DU community, contact the Circulation desk at (303) 871-6188 or help@law-du.libanswers.com.

     

    • Unable to Sign In with User Verification Screen

      Did you go directly to the database’s website (i.e. via Google or another search engine)? If so, you will not be able to sign into the database unless you have a personal account.

      In order to access subscription resources from home, you must use the special proxy links provided on the Law Library’s website. You can find these links by searching Compass or by using the A-Z Database Guide. When you use a proxy link, you will be prompted to enter your DU ID and Pioneer Password.